UN Committee against Torture to review New Zealand, Congo, Romania, Luxembourg, Spain, Serbia, Colombia, Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia

The above are among the 157 States parties to the Convention against Torture and Other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment. As States parties, they are required to undergo regular reviews by the Committee on how they are implementing the Convention and the Committee’s previous recommendations.

The Committee, which is composed of 10 independent experts, will engage in a dialogue with the respective government delegations. The public meetings, which begin at 10:00 and 15:00 Geneva time, will be webcast live and can be viewed here: http://www.treatybodywebcast.org/. The meetings will take place in the First Floor Conference Room at Palais Wilson in Geneva.

Further information is available at:
http://tbinternet.ohchr.org/_layouts/treatybodyexternal/SessionDetails1.aspx?SessionID=961&Lang=en .The Committee will publish its concluding observations on the respective states here on Friday 15 May.

A news conference is tentatively scheduled for 12:30 on Friday 15 May at Palais des Nations in Geneva.